Group Exhibition at Art Centre Salmela 10.6.–13.8.

The main focus of the annual Art Centre Salmela's visual arts exhibition is on Finnish contemporary art. In summer 2023, the exhibition will be open from 10.6. to 13.8. every day 11–18.

Get more info (link to another page)

Dial 853 – Live at the Great City Gate of Helsinki at OMVF30 in August 2023

OMVF30 – Oulu Music Video Festival celebrates the art of music video and audiovisual culture in general. The video showcased at the festival is part of the interdisciplinary project Et le passé revit le temps d’une visite.

Browse the festival programme (link to another page)

New lithographic edition printed at Helsinki Litho

Pärekori (2023)
66 x 50 cm

Read more about Helsinki Litho (link to another page)

The Nine Faces of Baba Yaga (from the series Et le passé revit le temps d’une visite)

The Nine Faces of Baba Yaga is a constantly changing representation of the witch’s hut on chicken legs as it might be described by different people sharing the story polyphonically. It belongs to a series titled Et le passé revit le temps d’une visite (And the past comes alive again for a visit), an interdisciplinary project implemented by visual artist Markus Jäntti-Tuominen and composer Walter Sallinen between 2017-2022. Combining fine art and music, the project draws its inspiration from the birth history of composer Modest Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition. The artistic result is a ten part video piece that brings together visual and audio works created in the project and an audiovisual catalogue of Jäntti-Tuominen's visual works and Sallinen's compositions.

Click here to watch the video

Video: Markus Jäntti, Walter Sallinen & Markus Koistinen
Artwork: Markus Jäntti
Sound: ‘Responsorio dell’Uccello’ by Walter Sallinen & Markus Koistinen
Sound mixing: Kaj Mäki-Ullakko

The Nine Faces of Baba Yaga was part of the Roaminale #2 screening on the 24th February 2023.